Skip to main content


Your Online Source for Men's and Women's Collegiate Club Volleyball

About Us
Team Registration
Governance Rules
NCVF Playing Rules
NCVF Women
National Tournament
Contact Us
Best Practices
Results Archive
Members Only

NCVF Crowns Nine Champions in Houston


NCVF Crowns Nine Champions in Houston      


Bill Kauffman
Associate Director, Communications USA Volleyball
Phone: 719-228-6800                           

Photos by Jack Zhang, NCVF


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (April 9, 2011) – The 2011 NCVF National Collegiate Club Volleyball Championships concluded its three-day tournament at Reliant Park in Houston on April 9 by crowning champions in nine different divisions. The NCVF, in cooperation with USA Volleyball, conducted the event for the second consecutive year with 336 teams competing in nine different divisions.


Wisconsin-Oshkosh claimed the Men’s Division I title by coming back from an opening set loss to defeat Notre Dame 21-25, 25-12, 15-10 in the gold-medal match. Wisconsin-Oshkosh defeated Ohio State A to open the gold bracket on Saturday, followed by a sweep of UC Davis A in the quarterfinals and a three-set victory over Indiana A in the semifinals. Notre Dame reached the title match by defeating Fresno State in gold bracket opener on Saturday, followed by a three-set win over UC San Diego in the quarterfinals and a sweep of Illinois State A in the semifinals.


Cal Poly A collected the Women’s Division I title with a 25-20, 25-21 victory over Marquette A in the gold-medal match. Cal Poly A won all four of its gold bracket matches on Saturday in two sets, starting with Michigan A in the opener, Ohio State A in the quarterfinals and Texas A in the semifinals. Marquette A topped Wisconsin A in the gold bracket opener, then edged Dayton A in three sets in the quarterfinals and advanced to the title match with a sweep of Arizona A.


New Hampshire walked away with the Men’s Division IAA title with a 25-17, 29-27 victory over Rhode Island in the gold-medal match. New Hampshire defeated Cal State Chico in the semifinals and downed Stanford in a three-set semifinal victory to reach the title match. Rhode Island edged Virginia in three sets during the quarterfinals before sweeping DePaul in the semifinals to advance to the championship match.


Cal State Chico edged Northern Arizona 26-24, 25-23 in the Women’s Division IAA gold-medal match, the fourth contest of the day for both teams. Cal State Chico opened the day by rallying past Texas-San Antonio in three sets followed by another three-set victory over Arizona State A in the quarterfinal round. Cal State Chico advanced to the title match with a sweep of Miami (Ohio) in the semifinals. Northern Arizona swept Southern California to start Saturday morning competition, followed by rallying past Central Michigan in a three-set quarterfinal victory. Northern Arizona swept Texas State A in the semifinal round to reach the title match against Cal State Chico.


North Dakota State earned the Men’s Division IAAA title after a hard-fought 25-21, 18-25, 15-9 victory over Wisconsin-Stout in the gold-medal match. North Dakota State needed three-set rallies in the quarterfinals and semifinals just to reach the championship match, defeating Western Illinois and Washington earlier in the day. Wisconsin-Stout topped Texas State in the quarterfinals and held on for a three-set victory over Oregon in the semifinals.



Wisconsin-LaCrosse stopped Providence (Canada) 25-22, 25-19 in the Men’s Division II gold-medal match. Wisconsin-LaCrosse defeated Duke A in the quarterfinals after a championship-day opening victory over St. Olaf. Wisconsin-LaCrosse reached the title match with a three-set win over Wisconsin-Eau Claire in the semifinals. Providence won three matches on Saturday to reach the title match, including a three-set win over Sonoma State, a quarterfinal sweep of Western Washington and a win over Kutztown in the semifinals.


Texas A&M B captured the Women’s Division II gold medal with a 25-20, 25-17 victory over Arizona B in the final match. Texas A&M B reached the final match with gold bracket victories over Ohio State B in the quarterfinal round and Michigan State B in the semifinal. Arizona B down North Carolina B in the quarterfinals and Texas B in the semifinal round.


Arizona B took home the gold in Men’s Division III following a 25-18, 25-17 victory over Indiana B in the title match. Arizona B rallied to defeat California in three sets in the quarterfinal round followed by a sweep of Illinois B to reach the championship match. Indiana B downed Illinois State B in the quarterfinals and edged Emory in three sets in the semifinals to advance to the gold-medal match.


The tournament field, a 70-team increase over last year’s event held in Louisville, included 180 men’s teams and 156 women’s teams separated into nine divisions. The NCVF Championships results can be viewed at For a listing of teams competing in the NCVF Championships, click here.


NCVF Championships Division Results
Women’s Division II: Gold – Texas A&M B; Silver – Arizona B; Bronze – Texas B and Michigan State B
Men’s Division IAAA: Gold – North Dakota State; Silver – Wisconsin-Stout; Bronze – Oregon and Washington
Men’s Division III: Gold – Arizona B; Silver – Indiana B; Bronze – Emory and Illinois B
Women’s Division IAAA: Gold – Vacated ; Silver – Colorado B; Bronze – Washington-St. Louis and East Carolina
Men’s Division IAA: Gold – New Hampshire; Silver – Rhode Island; Bronze – Stanford and DePaul
Women’s Division IAA: Gold – Cal State Chico; Silver – Northern Arizona; Bronze – Miami (Ohio) A and Texas State A
Men’s Division II: Gold – Wisconsin-LaCrosse; Silver – Providence (Canada); Bronze – Wisconsin-Eau Claire and Kutztown
Women’s Division I: Gold – Cal Poly A; Silver – Marquette A; Bronze – Texas A and Arizona A
Men’s Division I: Gold – Wisconsin-Oshkosh; Silver – Notre Dame; Bronze – Illinois State A and Indiana A